Residents Businesses Visitors Government Search Directory Home Office of the Planning Commission

Planning Home
Line Break
Planning Commission Members
Historic Preservation Commission Members
Line Break
About Us
Contact Us
Frequently Asked Questions
Line Break
About Us

The Planning Commission of the City of Baton Rouge and Parish of East Baton Rouge, Louisiana, was established in 1949 as a part of one of the country's earliest combined city and county (or city and parish) governing units. Known as the City-Parish Planning Commission, the governmental agency is directed by state law and the the City-Parish Plan of Government to guide the physical growth of Baton Rouge and the Parish with comprehensive planning and land use controls.

As well as, comprehensive and advance planning duties the Planning Commission develops zoning and subdivision regulations, and reviews rezoning and subdivision applications. The Commission and the Planning staff make recommendations to the Metropolitan Council for ordinances, ordinance changes and land use requirements. The work of the planning staff is guided by a twenty year comprehensive land use and development plan FUTUREBR that was adopted in 2011.

The Planning Commission is a nine-member board that advises elected officials on growth and development issues for the Parish. The Commission decides on subdivision issues that fall within existing subdivision regulations, and serves in an advisory capacity to the Metropolitan Council on any zoning or planning ordinance changes or amendments.

The icons used to create the Planning Commission website are courtsey of Icon8